Resources About Colleges

Admissions, Security, Virtual Tours & Costs

College Navigator (nces.ed.gov/collegenavigator) is a free consumer information resource provided by the U.S. Department of Education. You can easily find and explore schools based on search criteria such as: academic major, location, size, varsity athletic programs, tuition, and entrance exam scores. The site’s design looks dated but contains a treasure trove of information.

Niche (colleges.niche.com) is a refreshing an alternative to school-published brochures and factual websites. The site offers inside reviews by current students, and “grades” on an interesting variety of aspects for each school.

CollegeXpress (www.collegexpress.com) provides college search options and lists that can help you identify and explore colleges by major, location and a variety of other criteria. You’ll find more than 700 lists — everything from academic major to campus vibe to vegetarian-friendly. The site can be utilized without creating a user account.

Unigo (www.unigo.com) posts “insider” reviews, videos and photos contributed by students attending the college. While the reviews can be highly subjective, they can help prospective students get a sense of a college’s atmosphere and pulse. Although the site encourages visitors to create a user account, it is not necessary to view for much of the content.

College Board – Big Future (www.collegeboard.com) provides factual information for more than 3500 schools through its Big Future portal. You’ll find a broad range of information from the most popular majors to AP credit and placement policy. You’ll also find a “What Important” tab for each institution along with wait list statistics.

U.S. Government – Campus Safety & Security Date Tool (ope.ed.gov/security) maintained by the U.S. Government is helpful for evaluating schools from a safety perspective.

Campus Tours – YOUniversityTours (www.YOUniversityTV.com) features entertaining and informative video tours of college campuses from Florida to California to Hawaii.

College Reality Check (collegerealitycheck.com) provided by the Chronicle of Higher Education provides tool to compare schools on financial measures such as graduation rates, average net price, debt repayment and post-graduation earnings.

College Portraits — Factual Information about Public Colleges (www.collegeportraits.org) provides factual information for many public colleges and universities.

College Results — Graduation Rates (www.collegeresults.org) provides interactive tools to query graduation rates at four-year colleges and universities. In addition to providing college-specific graduation rates and other data (e.g. cost, financial aid), the comparison tool provides analogous information for similar colleges.

Kiplinger — Best College Values (www.kiplinger.com/fronts/channels/college) ranks U.S. colleges and universities in three separate lists: public, private universities, and liberal arts colleges. Users can query, view and sort the schools on each list by various financial and quality measures.

U.S. News and World Report Best Colleges (colleges.usnews.rankingsandreviews.com/best-colleges) Beyond its annual rankings, the site offers a myriad of college data and guidance. In addition to ranking national universities and liberal arts colleges, you’ll find an assortment of interesting lists including: A+ Options for B Students, Learning Communities, Up-and-Coming Colleges, Internships-Co-ops, Study Abroad, Best Undergrad Teaching and Writing Programs.

Fair Test — SAT / ACT Optional Schools (www.fairtest.org) provides a list of more than 800 four-year colleges and universities that do not use the SAT or ACT to admit substantial numbers of bachelor degree candidates.

College Confidential (www.collegeconfidential.com), the popular college admissions site and discussion forum, is a source of school-specific gossip (whether reliable or not) and information.